Maggie Giles

Photo by Captured by Kirsten

Maggie Giles is an award winning Canadian author of women’s fiction, thriller and suspense novels.

She dove into writing a novel head first despite having aphantasia, a condition where one lacks a visual imagination. She lives in Ontario with her mastiff-mix, Jolene, and spends most of her days enjoying the outdoors, from swimming to hiking to skiing in the winter. 

Maggie is a former participant of Scribophile, an online writing community for serious writers, and a member of the Women’s Fiction Writers Association where she volunteered as their Social Media Director for nine years. She is also an active member of the International Thriller Writers.

Her novels are published by Rising Action Publishing Collective. Her third novel, Wicked, will be published October 22, 2023. 

She also has an irrational obsession with Shawn Spencer.

Books

The Things We Lost

Women’s Fiction Suspense

Independent Press Award Distinguished Favourite 2023
Top 10 Women’s Fiction for 2022 by Booklist

Maddie Butler has been haunted for fourteen years. After the suspicious death of a friend when she was twenty-two, Maddie tried to move on, convincing herself there was nothing she could have done. Now in an unfulfilling marriage, she realized how much the guilt has led to an unhappy life.

When she runs into her ex-boyfriend, the memories come flying back in full force. Burdened with regret and unhappiness, Maddie wonders how her life could have been different. The next morning, she wakes up twenty-six years old and in a completely different life. Her daughters don’t exist, her husband is nowhere to be found, and her friend is still alive, four years after her funeral.

As Maddie navigates this new world, she realizes she is the product of her own unhappiness. But is this new do-over exactly what she needs, even if it means never seeing her daughters again?

For fans of Amy Impellizzeri’s Lemongrass Hope and Taylor Jenkins Reid’s Maybe In Another Life, that will have you wondering, what if?

Twisted

Thriller

Book 1 of the Twisted Duology

Detective Ryan Boone thought the simple jewelry heist was an open and shut case. That is until he discovers an unknown drug, and this minor crime he was investigating may be tied to a string of seemingly unconnected murders.

Meanwhile, Mel Parker, unscrupulous leader of a less-than-legal high-end escort service, stumbles across the same pills. On top of protecting her “investment,” she has her own reasons for attempting to unravel the mystery behind the medication.

Ryan knows someone has the answers he seeks, and Mel can’t come forward. To complicate things further, five other women are implicated in the murders despite most having never met.

As the trail turns up as many mysteries as resolutions, Ryan and Mel must discover the twisted connection before someone else ends up dead.

For fans of The Wife Between Us by Greer Hendricks and Sarah Pekkanen, and When You Find Me by P. J. Vernon, Twisted will have you questioning the motive behind the murders and how exactly one can be found guilty when the evidence doesn’t add up.

Wicked

Thriller

Coming October 22, 2024

Book 2 of the Twisted Duology

Detective Ryan Boone just can’t let this case go. While the mystery behind the robbery and murders in Twisted was uncovered a few months back, there is still a very large loose thread that Boone desperately wishes to tie up. He convinces his superiors to allow him to travel to Ottawa, where he’s uncovered a lead into a conspiracy that hints what happened in Toronto has nation-wide, and horrific, implications.

Former detective Cora Porter has moved to forensics, but when a strange case involving a murder, a runaway, and a case of mistaken identity hits close to home, she squeezes her way into the investigation. It also doesn’t help that a certain visiting detective has caught her eye, and is also willing to work with her on the case.

Their suspect, Blaine Roche, always seems to be one step ahead of Ryan and Cora. What they don’t know is that he’s not just trying to evade arrest, but take down the conspiracy for his own purposes. Given he’s already a wanted man, Blaine is willing to do whatever it takes to get revenge. He has nothing else to lose … or so he thinks.

Wicked picks up where Twisted left off, but in a new location and with several new twists.

Preorder info coming soon.