Sharon M. Peterson

Sharon M. Peterson has always been a voracious reader, using books to escape her real life and discover new friends. Every Mother’s Day, she thanks her mom for letting her read when she should have been cleaning her room. As a result, she’s a terrible housekeeper but a pretty dang good writer. For several years, she taught middle school English and ESL and has the personality to prove it. When she’s not hiding from her kids in the closet or writing, she’s also a member of the Women’s Fiction Writers Association (WFWA) and a founding member of Every Damn Day Writers (an accountability and support group for women writers). One of Sharon’s favorite quotes is from Steinbeck’s Grapes of Wrath: “It was her habit to build up laughter out of inadequate materials.” She strives to tackle life that way and create characters who do the same. Sharon writes women’s fiction with heart and humor and always a bit of romance. Her first novel was a finalist in the 2018 North Houston RWA Lone Star Writing Competition and a 2019 RWA Golden Heart® finalist. She lives Texas with her husband and four children, including two autistic sons. She has one cat, two dogs, one Russian tortoise, one tattoo, an iced tea addiction, and an intense fear of poodles (don’t ask). Plans for her own emotional support fish are currently in the works.

Books

The Do Over

Romantic Comedy

“Look, you’re a nice girl but I don’t think we should see each other anymore.” The voicemail ends and I freeze in the dentist’s chair as I realize… I’ve just been dumped on live radio.

It took the most humiliating break-up for me to see that my life is in serious need of a do-over. Cue my anti New Year’s resolutions that even I can’t fail at:

  1. Stop dating. (Men are the worst.)
  2. Stop trying to lose weight. (I’m never giving up chocolate.)
  3. Stop working so hard. (Selling mortgages is not my dream career.)
  4. Stop trying to live up to unrealistic expectations. (Start living my best life.)
  5. Stop trying to please my mother. (It’s not possible.)

But it turns out number five is harder than I thought, as she begins her campaign to get me back with my ex. So, what’s the perfect solution to keep her out of my love life? An imaginary boyfriend—at least he was supposed to be imaginary until I blurted out my neighbor’s name…

Nate, the bad boy next door with gorgeous hazel eyes, a razor-sharp jawline and a mysterious scar, might be hot, but he’s definitely not my boyfriend. Now all I need to do is stick to my resolutions while also keeping my interfering family away from my non-existent lover who has no idea that we’re fake dating. What could possibly go wrong?

A completely addictive, feel-good rom-com perfect for fans of TikTok sensations The Love HypothesisThe Unhoneymooners, and Sarah Adams. An absolutely hilarious page-turner for anyone who feels they need to start living life to the fullest.

The Fake Out

Romantic Comedy

I can’t lock up the library until the guy asleep at his desk leaves. Thank the universe for audiobooks because I could be here all night. But I see his mouth twitch at the exact moment a steamy kiss takes place. My face burns when I realize my headphones aren’t plugged in and my phone is at full volume.

It’s not every day you see a new face in my small hometown of Two Harts, let alone one belonging to an annoyingly handsome all-star NFL player. But for some reason Chris Sterns has decided that the library where I work is his go-to spot to hide from his mega-fans, and unfortunately, winding me up is his new favorite sport.

Being crowned “world’s sexiest man” has done little to curb his confident charm and when he somehow ropes me into his two-person book club, I can’t help warming to his endless positivity.

But when a photo of him stumbling out of a Las Vegas club with a woman in tow is leaked to the press, I can’t help but question whether his good boy persona is just an act.

And that’s far from the only answer I’m left searching for when Chris pops the question I’ve only ever heard in my favorite romance books. Did he really just ask me to marry him?

It’s not the proposal I was expecting, but with my mom’s medical bills piling up faster than I can pay them, and with the scandal threatening to ruin everything Chris has worked for; could an engagement be the perfect fake out for us both? Or is this a game we’ll both lose?

A totally uplifting and addictive friends-to-lovers romance full of laugh-out-loud moments. Perfect for fans of Emily Henry, Sarah Adams and Olivia Dade.